Board of Directors and Executive Committee

The Board of Directors, through such procedures and policies as it may adopt, including establishment of subcommittees as it deems appropriate, shall carry out the mandates and policies of the Association as determined by the membership and shall also have the power and authority to act for the membership between its meetings. It shall make an annual report to the membership, at the Annual Meeting. The Board shall prepare and present to the membership for its consideration an annual budget providing for the necessary expenses of the Association. Such budget shall be prepared at least thirty (30) days before the opening of the Annual Session, and shall be made available upon request to any member.

The Executive Committee is composed of the President of the Association, the President-elect of the Association, the Immediate Past President of the Association, the Chair of the Board of Directors, the Secretary-Treasurer of the Association, and three members elected on an annual basis by the Board. The purpose of the Executive Committee is to:

  • Be responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Association
  • Serve as an advisory board to the Chief Executive Officer and the Chief Operating Officer with respect to personnel(staff) of the Association
  • Authorize staff to take specific actions to accomplish the strategic goals established by the Board of Director's consistent with budgetary restrictions
  • Conduct an annual review of the performance of the Chief Executive Officer
  • Identify developing issues, inside and outside the state
  • Be responsible for all ceremonial duties of the Association
  • Be responsible for liaisons with other organizations

The Chair of the Board shall be the Chair of the Executive Committee and will report to the Board at each of its meetings any action taken by the Executive Committee since the preceding Board meeting.

Listed Alphabetically

Jeffrey Barkin, MD
Portland, ME
Executive Committee Member

Paul Cain, MD, President
Oxford, ME
Executive Committee Member
Sara Freedman, MD
South Portland, ME
Maroulla Gleaton, MD
Trenton, ME
Minda Gold, MD
Damariscotta, ME
Executive Committee Member
Henk Goorhuis, MD
Portland, ME
Executive Committee Member
R. Scott Hanson, MD, MPH, President-elect
Lewiston, ME
Executive Committee Member
Raymond Hicks, MD
Hallowell, ME
Hani Jarawan, MD
Portland, ME
James Jarvis, MD, Board Chair
Bangor, ME
Executive Committee Member
Jims Jean-Jacques, DO
Bangor, ME
Maryn Kanter, MD, MPH
San Francisco, CA
Patrick Killoran, MD, MPH
Camden, ME
Dieter Kreckel, MD
Rumford, ME

Amy Madden, MD
Belgrade, ME

Samuela Manages, MD
Saint David, ME
Jonathan Meserve, MD
Falmouth, ME
Executive Committee Member
Nathaniel Meyer, MD, Medical Resident
Portland, ME
Dora Anne Mills, MD, MPH
Portland, ME

Christopher Mutter, DO
Portland, ME

James Mullen, MD, MBA
Brunswick, ME

Madison Oxley, Medical Student
Hampden, ME

Michael Parker, MD, Treasurer
Lewiston, ME
Executive Committee Member
  Elizabeth Pearce, MD
Falmouth, ME
Kenji Saito, MD, JD
Augusta, ME
Karen Saylor, MD
Falmouth, ME
Scott Schiff-Slater, MD
Hallowell, ME
Robert Schlager, MD
Pittsfield, ME
Erik N. Steele, DO, Immediate Past President
Yarmouth, ME
Executive Committee Member